16
Oct
10

His Wife’s Blog

I have intentionally not posted anything on here for a long time.  Sadly, there are a handful of people that are using this blog — out of context, in my opinion — to add drama and stress to our already difficult situation.  These are people that haven’t been entirely supportive of me or many of the choices that Johan and I have made over the years so it’s not surprising but it’s hurtful nonetheless.

Therefore I’ve decided to stay quiet for fear that they will send Johan yet another email to harass him about his wife’s blog.   I can only imagine what this post will bring. It’s a shame because this was such a rewarding outlet for me to share our experiences, both happy and sad, and to keep all our friends and my family updated.  I’ve really enjoyed writing this blog.

Perhaps I’ll write again.  I think a book might be in order.

For now, know that we’re hanging in there.  We’re making plans for the future and looking forward to moving past this very dark phase.  Johan, with the help of Sutent, is doing well managing his cancer.  He learned a few weeks back that  his tumors are indeed shrinking.  We are staying positive and trying to keep our eyes focused on those things that make us feel safe and happy.

Until next time…

 

 


6 Responses to “His Wife’s Blog”


  1. 1 Lynn Pless
    October 16, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    Stephanie,
    Thinking of you guys always…..positive thoughts always!! OXOX

  2. 2 Kate
    October 16, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    Steph,

    so sorry to hear there are people out there not being supportive. Ef em (pardon my French). You two are awesome. You are doing a fantastic job and anyone who would say otherwise needs to walk a mile in your shoes. You are positive and life-giving to each other and an incredible example to the rest of us of the love and beauty that marriage provides most tested in harder times. You remain always in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. 3 Faye
    October 16, 2010 at 4:58 pm

    Stephanie, there are ways to create invitation-only blogs, I believe — and also Facebook has now added a feature where you can create private groups. I hope you will find a way to keep sharing with those of us who care and are concerned. Either way, we love you!

  4. October 17, 2010 at 12:26 am

    I’m a stranger to you and your family – somehow stumbled across your blog one day a long time ago. Sorry to hear about those people who don’t know how to be supportive when that’s what’s needed. I haven’t checked-in in a little while, but, for what it’s worth, you’re in a stranger’s thoughts who’s having good-thoughts for you and your husband.

  5. 5 Emma
    October 18, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Stephanie

    I’m sorry that people are using your words against you.

    I check in here regularly to see if you are posting, and I’m so pleased to read that Johan’s tumours have some shrinkage – may they continue to go in a backwards direction for a very long time.

    We are in battles for funding, and you don’t need me to tell you how hard and soul destroying that can be.

    Thinking of you all.

    Emma

  6. 6 James Walker
    October 21, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    You, Johan, and the kids are always in our thoughts and prayers.

    James


Leave a comment


Disclaimer: This blog may have horrendous spelling and grammar errors.